Northern Lights Library System Board Regular Board Meeting Via Zoom

5615 - 48 Street, Elk Point, AB

10:00 AM Friday August 27, 2021

Meeting Minutes

Present via Zoom

Fodness, Maxine-County of St. Paul Harvey, Al - Town of Lamont Bruce, Barry - Beaver County Frank, Daryl - Village of Kitscoty Heslin, Cyndy - Village of Ryley Berry, David - Town of Vegreville McQuinn, Debra - Town of Elk Point Berry, Loraine - Town of Gibbons Gramlich, Val - Village of Chauvin Anheliger, Jennifer – Town of Morinville/Alta Rep Saskiw, Dianne - County of Two Hills May, Tanya - Town of Bon Accord Sorochan, Elaine – Town of Two Hills Rudolf, Donna – Village of Myrnam Tiedemann, Larry - S.V. of Mewatha Beach Morton, Melody, Town of Smoky Lake Thompson, Justin - Town of Vermilion

Foley, Bob - Town of Wainwright Coubrough, Doug - Village of Irma Shaw, Karen - Sturgeon County Dorosh, Les – Town of Rewater Lefebvre, Vicky - City of Cold Lake (Chair) Sabo, Lillian - Town of Mundare Smith, Barbara - Village of Boyle Beniuk, Darlene - Lac La Biche County Noel, Norm - Town of St. Paul McLuckie, Jill, Village of Mannville Storoschuk, Lorna - Town of Bonnyville Kuzio, Tara - County of Minburn Diduck, David-Lamont County Valleau, Phil - MD of Wainwright Schoepp, Curtis - S.V. of Whispering Hills Schoepp, Curtis - S.V. Island Lake South Schoepp, Curtis - S.V. of Island Lake Schoepp, Curtis - SV of Sunset Beach

Present Via Zoom by Phone

Absent

Jubinville, Marc - M.D. of Bonnyville Acres, Judy - Town of Viking Stelmaschuk, Jason - County of Vermilion River Lukinuk, Craig - Smoky Lake County Filipchuk, Richard - Thorhild County Arnold, Mary - Village of Paradise Valley Quinney, MaryJane – Frog Lake First Nations Krahulec, Julie - Village of Waskatenau Reid, Tom - Village of Edgerton

Staff

MacDonald, James - Executive Director

Guests

Dahlgren, Jodi – LMC DeSousa, Jordan - PLSB Woodford, Leah - ABM

Tomaszyk, Ed - S.V. of Bondiss Brown, Cathy - Town of Tofield Rainey, Ashley - Village of Marwayne Schueler, Judy - Town of Bruderheim Lupul, Sheila - Village of Andrew Vacant - S.V. of Pelican Narrows Cherniwchan, Tannia - Town of Athabasca Hursin, Amelia (Myn) - S.V. of West Baptiste Romanko, Don - Village of Vilna

Hampson, Terri - Operations & Finance Manager

Peachy, Katrina - PLSB Woloshyniuk, Tracy - ANE

- 1. Call to order via Zoom Meeting called to order at 10am
- 2. Introductions/Quorum confirmed.
- 3. Acknowledge of Treaty 6 and Land of the Metis Vicky Lefebvre
- 4. Adoption of Agenda

M1-Lorna Storoschuk motions to accept the Agenda as amended/presented, all in favor, motion carried.

5. General Board Meeting Minutes of May 29, 2021

Melody Morton to be added to the attendance list

M2 – Debra McQuinn motions to accept the Minutes of May 29, 2021, all in favor, motion carried.

- 6. For Information
 - 6.1. Library Managers Council Report Jodi Dahlgren
- M3 Barry Bruce motions to accept the LMC report as presented as information, all in favor, motion carried.
 - 6.2. Alberta Library Trustees Association (ALTA) report Jen Anheliger

M4- Elaine Sorochan motions to accept the ALTA report as presented, all in favor, motion carried.

10:09 - Darlene Beniuk and MB joined the meeting

10:12 - Barbara Smith joined the meeting

6.3. PLSB Report – Katrina Peachy & Jordon DeSousa

M5- Les Dorosh motions to accept the PLSB report as presented, all in favor, motion carried.

6.4. Financials – Terri Hampson

M6- Larry Tiedemann motions to accept the January Financial report as presented, all in favor, motion carried.

6.5. Executive Director Report – James MacDonald

M7- Barbara Smith motions to accept the NLLS Executive Director Report as presented, all in favor, motion carried.

6.6. NLLS Board Chair Report – Vicky Lefebvre

M8- Karen Shaw motions to accept the NLLS Board Chair report as presented, all in favor, motion carried.

10:40 – Justin Thompson joined the meeting

7. Draft 2022 Budget

M9- Jill McLuckie motions to accept the Draft 2022 budget as presented, all in favor, motion carried.

- 8. For Decision
 - 8.1 Election Executive Committee Member

Call for nominations –Curtis Schoepp put his name forward earlier, no further nominations came from the floor. 3 calls for nominations were given.

M10- Karen Shaw motions to cease nominations, all in favor motion carried.

Curtis Schoepp is acclaimed and elected to the Executive Committee Board

8.2 Election – Policy Committee Member

Jenn Anheliger has put her name forward

Loraine Berry has put her name forward, Loraine Berry has withdrawn.

3 calls for nominations were taken from the floor.

M11- Barbara Smith motions to cease nominations, all in favor motion carried

Jenn Anheliger is acclaimed and elected to the Policy Committee

The next regular board meeting: November

6. Adjournment

 ${\bf M12-\!Jill\ McLuckie\ motions\ to\ adjourn\ the\ meeting\ at\ 11:23am,\ all\ in\ favor,\ motion\ carried.}$