## **Northern Lights Library System Board**

### Regular Board Meeting Via Zoom

5615 - 48 Street, Elk Point, AB 10:00 AM Saturday May 29, 2021

### **Meeting Minutes**

### Present via Zoom

Amyotte, Laurent- County of St. Paul Harvey, Al - Town of Lamont Acres, Judy - Town of Viking Reid, Tom - Village of Edgerton Shaw, Karen - Sturgeon County Frank, Daryl - Village of Kitscoty

Griffin, Warren - Athabasca County (Vice-Chair) Jubinville, Marc - M.D. of Bonnyville Lefebvre, Vicky - City of Cold Lake (Chair) Lukinuk, Craig - Smoky Lake County

Skousbol, Daniel - Town of Bruderheim Berry, Loraine - Town of Gibbons Beniuk, Darlene - Lac La Biche County

Anheliger, Jennifer – Town of Morinville/Alta Rep

Saskiw, Dianne - County of Two Hills May, Tanya - Town of Bon Accord Valleau, Phil - MD of Wainwright

Dafoe, Stephen - ALT - Town of Morinville

Lupul, Sheila - Village of Andrew

Schoepp, Curtis - S.V. of Whispering Hills Schoepp, Curtis - S.V. Island Lake South

Morton, Melody - Town of Smoky Lake

# **Present Via Zoom by Phone**

Tiedemann, Larry - S.V. of Mewatha Beach

#### **Absent**

Cherniwchan, Tannia - Town of Athabasca Hursin, Amelia (Myn) - S.V. of West Baptiste Quinney, MaryJane – Frog Lake First Nation Noel, Norm - Town of St. Paul Bruce, Barry - Beaver County Filipchuk, Richard - Thorhild County

Staff MacDonald, James - Executive Director

Guests

Dahlgren, Jodi - LMC

Foley, Bob - Town of Wainwright Smith, Barbara - Village of Boyle Brown, Cathy - Town of Tofield Coubrough, Doug - Village of Irma Rudolph, Donna - Village of Myrnam Dorosh, Les - Town of Rewater Heslin, Cyndy - Village of Ryley Thompson, Justin - Town of Vermilion Berry, David - Town of Vegreville Sabo, Lillian - Town of Mundare McQuinn, Debra - Town of Elk Point Arnold, Mary - Village of Paradise Valley Gramlich, Val - Village of Chauvin McLuckie, Jill, Village of Mannville Storoschuk, Lorna - Town of Bonnyville Kuzio, Tara - County of Minburn Sorochan, Elaine - Town of Two Hills Fodness, Maxine - ALT - County of St. Paul Oudshoorn, William - Village of Innisfree Schoepp, Curtis - S.V. of Island Lake Schoepp, Curtis - S.V. of Bondiss, Sunset Beach

Krahulec, Julie - Village of Waskatenau Romanko, Don - Village of Vilna Stelmaschuk, Jason - County of Vermilion River Smith, Ina - S.V. of Pelican Narrows Rainey, Ashley - Village of Marwayne

Hampson, Terri - Operations & Finance Manager

Woloshyniuk, Tracy - ANE Newbrook Library

- 1. Call to order via Zoom Meeting called to order at 10:00 am.
- 2. Introductions/Quorum confirmed.
- 3. Acknowledge of Treaty 6 and Land of the Metis Vicky Lefebvre
- 4. Adoption of Agenda
- M1- Tom Reid motions to accept the agenda as presented, all in favor, motion carried.
  - 5. General Board Meeting Minutes of February 26, 2021
- M2 Barbara Smith motions to accept the Minutes of February 26, 2021, all in favor, motion carried.

Lorna Storoschuk left the meeting at 10:15am

- 6. Training moment Policy Database
- 7. For Information
  - 6.1. Library Managers Council Report Jodi Dahlgren

M3- Debra McQuinn motions to accept the LMC report as presented, all in favor, motion carried.

6.2. Alberta Library Trustees Association (ALTA) report – Jen Anheliger

M4- Les Dorosh motions to accept the ALTA report as presented, all in favor, motion carried.

6.3. Financials – Terri Hampson

M5- Lorraine Berry motions to accept the Financials as presented, all in favor, motion carried.

6.4. Executive Director Report – James MacDonald

M6- Cyndy Heslin motions to accept the NLLS Executive Director Report as presented, all in favor, motion carried.

- 6.5. NLLS Organizational Review Report James MacDonald
- M7- Will Oudshoorn motions to accept the NLLS Board Chair report as presented, all in favor, motion carried.
  - 6.6. NLLS Board Chair Report Vicky Lefebvre

M8- Craig Lukinuk motions to accept the NLLS Board Chair report as presented, all in favor, motion carried.

Sheila Lupul joined the meeting at 10:52 am

6.7. NLLS Elections – Warren Griffin

### **Executive Board Chair**

Cyndy Heslin motions to nominate Vicky Lefebvre – accepted Debra McQuinn self-nominated

3-calls for nominations from the floor issued.

M9- Craig Lukinuk motions to cease Executive Chair nominations, all in favor, motion carried.

Daniel Skousbol - dissents as an alternate

Poll Results – Vicky Lefebvre 70% - Debra McQuinn 30%

Vicky Lefebvre confirmed as elected board chair.

All Members were moved to Zone specific Breakout rooms and returned with the following results.

**Zone 1 Representative – Larry Tiedemann** 

Zone 3 Representative - Cyndy Heslin

Committee	Zone 1 Rep	Zone 2 Rep	Zone 3 Rep	Zone 4 Rep
Policy	Barbara Smith	Debra McQuinn	Karen Shaw	Justin Thompson
Advocacy	Barbara Smith	Dianne Saskiw	Cathy Brown	Justin Thompson
Grievance	Barbara Smith	Debra McQuinn	Sheila Lupul	Mary Arnold

Craig Lukinuk nominates Warren Griffin for Member at Large # 1- accepted Laurent Amyotte nominates Justin Thompson for Member at Large #4- accepted Warren Griffin nominates Craig Lukinuk for Member at Large #4- declined

M10 – Al Harvey motions to cease nominations, all in favor, motion carried.

Member at Large #1 Representative – Warren Griffin – by acclamation

Member at Large #4 Representative – Justin Thompson – by acclamation

Daniel Skousbol left the meeting at 11:54am.

### 6.8. Policy Updates for Approval

M11 - Cyndy Heslin motions to accept the policies as presented in the agenda as an omnibus package.

Justin Thompson called for the removal of Sec 1, 3L Social Media to be removed from the package.

David Berry calls for a Point of Order – that a motion has been called on the floor.

Justin Thompson calls for a Point of Order – that the agenda was not followed as presented.

Cyndy Heslin withdraws her motion as it was out of order of the agenda.

M12- Justin Thompson motions to remove Sec 1, 3L Social Media policy from the package, motion defeated.

M13 - Cyndy Heslin motions to accept the policies as presented in the agenda as an omnibus package, motion carried.

### 6. Adjournment

M14 – Jill McLuckie motions to adjourn the meeting at 12:15, all in favor, motion carried.