

Executive Director Weekly Board Update

Date: July 23rd, 2021

The following report is for your information. If you have questions, concerns, compliments please direct them to the Executive Board representative for your zone. Contact information is found on page two of this report.

BOARD

- Next general board meeting August 27, 2021 (10:00am)
- There is a vacancy for a member-at-large position on the Executive Committee. We hope to elect someone at the upcoming board meeting. If you are interested don't miss that meeting.
- Vicky, Jenn, and I visited the Island Lake municipal council this week via Zoom and in person and presented on our services.
- <u>Draft Minutes</u> of the May 27, 2021 general board meeting are available

OPERATIONS

- I met with the director of Saskatchewan Information & Library Service Consortium (SILS) this week. It is interesting to see what our neighbors are up to and what we can learn from them.
- To my knowledge we have now scheduled site visits for all our libraries. Staff from our Technology Services and Member Libraries will be out to see everyone by early fall.
- We have scheduled a meeting with Fishing Lake Métis Settlement to sign our master agreement.

LIBRARIES

- Publishers have rescinded the ability for libraries to do digital storytime or read entire works through digital media. We enjoyed this during the pandemic. This means some changes to programs like the Bonnyville Pontiacs reading Twilight or football star Keith Shologan leading storytime on <u>our</u> <u>YouTube channel</u>. We can still have book club like experiences and read excerpts, if not entire works. A recent communication from Michelle to our libraries' email list explains the details of what can and cannot be done.
- We have welcomed a number of new library managers to our libraries in the past few weeks. We are working with them to ensure they are well oriented to the system. This new group will join us at headquarters on August 26th. (Tofield welcomes Theresa Rawe; Lamont welcomes Stephanie Walker; Frog Lake welcomes Chantelle Dejarlais). Two other libraries will join us with a couple more seasoned library managers (from Fishing Lake we have Mary Dustow and from Edmonton Garrison, Melanie Pole).

My in-laws were in town this past week and my wife's grandmother with them. She suffers from some agerelated vision problems that makes it impossible to read, even large print. I was pleased to get her setup on Overdrive and teach her, and her son, how to access and download audiobooks. She was thrilled. I was reminded just how impactful libraries can be on the quality of our lives.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS

NAME	ZONE	EMAIL	PHONE NUMBER
Vicky Lefebvre	Chair	gillesvicky74@gmail.com	780-573-1926
Vacant (ML)	Zone 1	wgriffin@athabascacounty.com	780 675-0470
Larry Tiedemann	Zone 1	<u>casperti@telus.net</u>	780-975-0508
Barb Smith (ML)	Zone 1	<u>bsmith@boylealberta.com</u>	780-689-3643
Debra McQuinn	Zone 2 - Treasurer	mcquinndac@msn.com	780-614-8288
Cyndy Heslin	Zone 3 – Vice Chair	heslin@ryley.ca	780-663-3653
Karen Shaw (Sturgeon County)	Zone 3	kshaw@sturgeoncounty.ca	587-879-0208
Jennifer Anheliger (ML)	Zone 3	jennifer.anehliger@morinville.ca	780-380-7296
Jill McLuckie	Zone 4	jmcluckie@mannville.ca	780-763-6495
Justin Thompson	Zone 4	jthompson@vermilion.ca	780-581-3278

ML = Member at Large

Zone 1

Athabasca County S.V. of Bondiss S.V. of Sunset Beach S.V. of Island Lake S.V. of Island Lake South S.V. of Mewatha Beach S.V. of West Baptiste S.V. of Whispering Hills Smoky Lake County Thorhild County Town of Athabasca Town of Smoky Lake Village of Boyle Village of Vilna Village of Waskatenau

Zones

City of Cold Lake County of St. Paul County of Two Hills Lac La Biche County M.D. of Bonnyville S.V. of Pelican Narrows Town of Bonnyville Town of Elk Point Town of St. Paul Town of Two Hills Village of Myrnam

Zone 2

Zone 3 Beaver County Lamont County Sturgeon County Town of Bon Accord Town of Bruderheim Town of Bruderheim Town of Gibbons Town of Lamont Town of Lamont Town of Morinville Town of Morinville Town of Mundare Town of Redwater Town of Tofield Town of Viking Village of Andrew Village of Holden

Village of Ryley

Zone 4

County of Minburn County of Vermilion River M.D. of Wainwright Town of Vegreville Town of Vermilion Town of Wainwright Village of Chauvin Village of Edgerton Village of Edgerton Village of Innisfree Village of Irma Village of Irma Village of Mannville Village of Marwayne Village of Paradise Valley