

Executive Director Weekly Board Update

Date: June 11th, 2021

The following report is for your information. If you have questions, concerns, compliments please direct them to the Executive Board representative for your zone. Contact information is found on page two of this report.

BOARD

- Next Executive committee meeting July 9, 2021 (10:00am)
- Next general board meeting August 27, 2021 (10:00am)
- I met with Vicky (Chair) and Warren (Vice-Chair) this afternoon to discuss an upcoming meeting with the Public Library Services Branch on the Libraries Act.
- Vicky and I have been invited to meet with the Gibbons council in late July.

OPERATIONS

• I met with the TRAC directors this week. We included the director of Parkland Regional Library System and have hammered out a deal to share our e-book content with one another. This will increase the number of materials available to our patrons and reduce hold queues. The best part – it costs us nothing!

Current Overdrive electronic book/audiobook content in TRAC:

Current holds – 36,586 holds on 5596 titles

eAudio holds – 13,397 holds on 2031 titles

eBook holds – 23,189 holds on 3565 titles

Holdings – 47,143 titles in our holdings

- 38,182 are eBooks
- 8,961 are eAudio
- Parkland is set to invest significant money into its new Overdrive collection and we will see thousands of new items available in our collection as a result. This follows a pattern of sharing with Parkland. Like our Cloud Linking agreement with Parkland our libraries will be unable to see items from their collections that already have holds and vice-versa.
- We are forming a system level Overdrive collection development team to help coordinate purchases to avoid too much duplication.

LIBRARIES

- Libraries are moving to Phase 2 and are in the midst of reopening.
- The 24 hour quarantine requirement for library materials has been lifted by Alberta Health.

I will be travelling back to Canada from Utah mid next week. This will make me unavailable from Wednesday June 16 to Friday June 18. It is a long drive in a moving truck.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS

NAME	ZONE	EMAIL	PHONE NUMBER
Vicky Lefebvre	Chair	gillesvicky74@gmail.com	780-573-1926
Warren Griffin (ML)	Zone 1 - Vice Chair	wgriffin@athabascacounty.com	780 675-0470
Larry Tiedemann	Zone 1	<u>casperti@telus.net</u>	780-975-0508
Barb Smith (ML)	Zone 1	bsmith@boylealberta.com	780-689-3643
Debra McQuinn	Zone 2	mcquinndac@msn.com	780-614-8288
Cyndy Heslin	Zone 3	<u>heslin@ryley.ca</u>	780-663-3653
Karen Shaw (Sturgeon County)	Zone 3	kshaw@sturgeoncounty.ca	587-879-0208
Jennifer Anheliger (ML)	Zone 3	jennifer.anehliger@morinville.ca	780-380-7296
Jill McLuckie	Zone 4	jmcluckie@mannville.ca	780-763-6495
Justin Thompson	Zone 4	jthompson@vermilion.ca	780-581-3278

ML = Member at Large

Zone 1

Athabasca County S.V. of Bondiss S.V. of Sunset Beach S.V. of Island Lake S.V. of Island Lake South S.V. of Mewatha Beach S.V. of West Baptiste S.V. of Whispering Hills Smoky Lake County Thorhild County Town of Athabasca Town of Smoky Lake Village of Boyle Village of Vilna Village of Waskatenau

Zone 2

City of Cold Lake County of St. Paul County of Two Hills Lac La Biche County M.D. of Bonnyville S.V. of Pelican Narrows Town of Bonnyville Town of Elk Point Town of St. Paul Town of Two Hills Village of Myrnam

Zones

Zone 3 **Beaver County** Lamont County Sturgeon County Town of Bon Accord Town of Bruderheim Town of Gibbons Town of Lamont Town of Morinville Town of Mundare Town of Redwater Town of Tofield Town of Viking Village of Andrew Village of Holden Village of Ryley

Zone 4

County of Minburn County of Vermilion River M.D. of Wainwright Town of Vegreville Town of Vermilion Town of Wainwright Village of Chauvin Village of Edgerton Village of Edgerton Village of Innisfree Village of Irma Village of Kitscoty Village of Mannville Village of Marwayne Village of Paradise Valley